We Need New Pigeon Holes

TooManyPigeons

I’m delighted to be asked by Writers’ and Artists’ Year book to write an article for their website.  Here it is: WANTED: A New Category in Children’s Books

My chance to air a subject close to my heart: the problem presented to children’s writers by pigeon holes imposed by the book trade (don’t say that with your mouth full).

Picture: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5c/TooManyPigeons.jpg/1024px-TooManyPigeons.jpg

4 thoughts on “We Need New Pigeon Holes

  1. I completely agree with your point. Having recently written my first children’s book with the same target audience in mind as yourself, I struggled when it came to giving the book a ‘category’. I felt my work could be enjoyed by young adult readers, but simultaneously wouldn’t label it as a young adult book, but ultimately was left with no choice but to do so. I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds this a pain!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I knew I wasn’t alone! We just have to keep vacillating between MG and YA. I promote my new book, The Tragickall History of Henry Fowst, for Age 11+, to show it’s at the limit of MG and hopefully won’t put off 12-14 year-olds who would enjoy its complexity. But it’s not ideal. Thanks for your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

